May 1, 2017

OAC 264 You Can't Run Away and Join The Circus Anymore.

I know a lot of you might be scratching your head and going, what? It was a phrase I heard often as a kid because the circus always came to town.  Or there was an awesome movie around the circus.  Kids always threatened to run away and...


I know a lot of you might be scratching your head and going, what? It was a phrase I heard often as a kid because the circus always came to town.  Or there was an awesome movie around the circus.  Kids always threatened to run away and join the circus! And some did!

The memories of taking our kids to the circus are all we'll have now.  No taking the great grand baby to see the 'greatest show on earth!'

I talk today about finding a way to preserve some of our traditions, some of our culture favorites.  Why?  Because of technology redirecting our connections.  Instead of hanging together, we text. Instead of talking on the phone we Face Book.  Instead of hugging we Skype.

I know I'm showing my age with this one, but I am truly concerned about what's next.  If we don't attend live events, if we don't honor special things, they will go away.

We're all very concerned about our world right now, so maybe this seems insignificant, but I truly believe it's vital to our society everywhere to just set technology aside once every day to see that someone in front of us and engage.  A real hug, a real conversation, a real connection.

This is my silly little rant, but when you listen you'll hear more about what is going away and what I truly cherish and will miss.

I so appreciate you listening, which would not be possible without this technology, but we've had radio for a long time and I hope it sticks around because of listeners like you...thank you.

Passing On A Smile,

Gail 

P.S. Our BeLive is Wednesday this week at 9 AM PST 11 AM CST and Noon EST.  We're talking about positive habits - please join us and let us know yours. SmartChic.me/Live